Ratusz Miejski Gorlice
Town Hall, Gorlice
At the market square there is a magnificent building of the Town Hall.
The first mention of the town hall dates back to 1608. The existing wooden building burnt down half a century later during the attack on Gorlice by the Prince of Transylvania, George II Rákóczi. At the end of the 19th century, the town already had a brick town hall. It was a two-storey building, created by combining three tenement houses, the oldest of which dates back to the years 1780-90. It was here that the pharmacy was located, where Ignacy Łukasiewicz had his experience in 1853-1858. A trace of the pharmacy is the wall fresco of the Greek goddess of health Hygiene, who is the patron saint of the pharmacy, located in the hallway of the town hall. The replica of the world's first street oil lamp invented by Łukasiewicz is placed on the front of the building. At the end of the hallway of the town hall, we can admire the monument of Father Bronisław Świeykowski - the papal chamberlain and mayor of Gorlice from the First World War. During the battle of Gorlice, the town hall, as one of the few buildings in the city, survived and suffered minor damage. The town hall owes its present appearance to reconstructions. During the last one, carried out in the 20th century according to the design of Józef Barut, a tower with a clock was added.